April 2017
« Jan    

The Societas Rosicruciana In Anglia


The Societas Rosicruciana Anglia is a Christian organization independent of any Masonic structure. All its members are still active Master Masons in their symbolic lodges. The degrees conferred by this organization are not considered as higher degree but rather as a complement to the Master Mason degree.

The Masonic Rosicrucian organization was founded in 1865 by Robert Wentworth, this following the discovery of certain manuscripts in the earliest records of the Grand Lodge of England.

It uses symbolism and traditions of a much older society known as the Brotherhood of the Rose + Cross, claiming its legendary founder Christian Rosenkreutz. The SRIA has spread to Scotland, the USA, France and other European countries.

The SRIA is organized into nine degrees, each with a specific ritual. In addition to their attendance, members of the SRIA are encouraged to actively participate, learn, do research and share their fruits. The main research topics are moving around Wisdom, Philosophy, the Ancient World, Art and Literature.

The purpose is to provide its members an open mind on the true nature of things and understanding the world in which they operate.

The members of the SRIA are grouped into Colleges.

Admission to the SRIA is limited to Master Masons who are members of a regular Grand Lodge, are of Christian faith and believe in the Holy Trinity. The Societas Rosicruciana Anglia operates by referral; in order to apply you have to be sponsored.

There are 3 orders of degrees :

First Order
  • I° – Zelator
  • II° – Theoricus
  • III° – Practicus
  • IV° – Philosophus
  • V° – Adeptus Minor
Second Order
  • VI° – Adeptus Major
  • VII° – Adeptus Exemptus
Third Order
  • VIII° – Magister
  • IX° – Magus