April 2017
« Jan    

The American York Rite


The American Rite also called the York Rite is a complete system beginning from the first degree and it is used by all the American Grand Lodges. All blue lodges in America are using the Webb ritual working, taking the name from Thomas Smith Webb who standardized the work with small differences from one State to another one.

The York Rite takes its name from the English town of the same name. It is not religious however develops themes and symbolism such as Solomon’s Temple, the Ark of the Covenant or the Crusades.

In addition to the traditional blue degrees, the York Rite includes the degrees of the Royal Arch, the Council of Royal Masters as well as of the Order of the Knights of the Temple.

Blue Lodges
  1. Entered Apprentice
  2. Fellow Craft
  3. Master Mason
Chapters (Royal Arch Masonry)
  1. Mark Master Mason
  2. Past Master (Virtual)
  3. Most Excellent Master
  4. Royal Arch Mason
Council of Royal & Select Masters (Cryptic Masonry)
  1. Royal Master
  2. Select Master
  3. Super Excellent Master
Preceptories / Commanderies
  1. Knight of the Red Cross
  2. Knight of Malta (Order of Malta)
  3. Knight Templar (Order of the Temple)
Grand Encampment
  1. Knight of the Red Cross of Constantine

In the United States, it is often the case that the members of the York Rite also belong to the higher degrees of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish RIte. In the USA, a Mason will have a right to be Knight of the Temple in the York Rite and Sublime Prince of the Royal Secret (32°) the AASR. There are equivalencies (or gateways) between these various Rites and degrees.

The American Rite is practice in Europe by the American Brothers in continental Europe mainly in NATO countries. There are a few members of the American Rite working in France in their own bodies of Freemasonry.